Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame 2019

The 2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Nominees has been announced. The 2019 nominations are;

Def Leppard
Janet Jackson
John Prine
LL Cool J
Rage Against the Machine
Roxy Music
Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
Stevie Nicks
The Cure
The Zombies
Todd Rundgren


What makes an artist eligible for the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame?

For artists to be included in the list of nominations for the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame they need to have recorded and released music more than 25 years ago. The Organisers say that “besides demonstrating unquestionable musical excellence and talent, inductees will have had a significant impact on the development, evolution and preservation of rock & roll”.

The shortlisted artists have now been chosen and it's up to a list of over 1000 music historians, music industry people and artists to vote. Fan can also vote. The five winners are then chosen by number of votes ready for the ceremony on the 29th March 2019 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame organization was established by the late Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun in 1983. The museum opened in Cleveland, Ohio in 1986. That year, Chuck Berry, James Brown, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Fats Domino, the Everly Brothers, Buddy Holly, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard and Elvis Presley became the first inductees. Aretha Franklin became the first female inductee in 1987. In 2018, Bon Jovi, the Cars, Dire Straits, the Moody Blues and Nina Simone were selected for induction.

Andrew Parsons
Freelance journalist for Music Industweet and social media marketing manager for label service companies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.